Week 12 Complete – Full FBG Review

JUUUSSSTTT finished my last workout for week 12! Going to be repeating myself from some of my previous blog posts regarding my FBG journey, but wanted to put a full review of sorts of there now that I’ve finished week 12!

If you’re just tuning in and wondering what FBG is that I’ve mentioned in quite a few posts on instagram now, here is a brief run down:

FBG = Fit Body Guide

The Fit Body Guide is a 12 week workout program by Anna Victoria. It is 6 days a week, split into 3 strength training days and 3 cardio/ab days. The workouts are high-intensity, approximately 30 minutes a day for strength, 45 minutes total for cardio/abs. The strength days are broken down into Legs/Glutes, Arms/Back, and Full body workouts. As for cardio, you begin with LISS for weeks 1-4, LIMIT for weeks 5-8, and finally HIIT for weeks 9-12.

LISS – Low Intensity Steady State
LIMIT – Low Intensity Medium Intensity
HIIT – High Intensity Interval Training

You can purchase just the workout guide, or the workout guide paired with the meal plan on Anna’s Site. www.annavictoria.com

To follow the guide, you can print it out but I found viewing it on my phone the easiest! [Might be because I lack computer ink right now haha]

I only been followed the workout portion of the guide. For me personally, I make meals for the four of us in my family and didn’t want to make “special” meals for myself. If it was just me, I think following the meal plan would have been a great idea as I’m certainly not a nutrition expert and am sure it affects my results a smidge that I didn’t follow it. I try to eat healthy/balanced meals but I don’t track macros/calories or anything anymore… I pretty much just wing it. While I feel like I have a fairly good sense of what to eat, what I should be eating and what I did eat sometimes differed on the weekend, haha. If you are unsure of what you should be eating or want to get the “best” results possible during the 12 weeks, I would recommend following the meal plan as well.

Weeks 1-2 are the same, weeks 3-4 are essentially the same with higher reps/weights. This pattern goes on for the length of the guide. I think it’s great that the guide is set up this way for a few reasons:

1) Once you learned the exercises, it made the following weeks workout easier in regards to not having to learn new moves.
2) You can compare how you improve each week.
3) The exercises changed enough to keep interesting, but not too often to be overwhelming.

I love that I learned some new exercises that I hadn’t tried before following this guide too. I feel like I have more knowledge when it comes to some go-to exercises to follow when I’m at the gym now. I used to feel super lost and intimidated with the free weights when I was at the gym, definitely have more confidence in using them now.

I also love that the workouts were on the shorter side. High intensity is freaking HARD, but the workouts can be a lot easier to squeeze into the day rather than long sessions at the gym! I also loved that it took out the guesswork when it came to exercising. Prior to starting the guide I kind of felt like a lost puppy at the gym sometimes.. not really knowing what to do, how many reps.. WHAT WEIGHT DO I USE? Having it right in front of me in regards to what I should be doing to get proven results was great!

I did find that working out 6 days a week was HARD though! Not impossible, but I found that a lot of the time on the weekend I honestly just lacked motivation and wanted to spend the time with my family rather than doing my workout. Some weekends I pushed through it and got it done.. others, I didn’t. Sometimes I made up missed days by “doubling up” the following day and others I didn’t.

One thing I also want to mention is that I personally don’t feel that FBG is made for those just beginning their fitness journey. I find the workouts can be INTENSE, in particular the strength workouts. I sometimes struggle to finish them and feel like I wouldn’t have been able to do the workouts prior to getting into better shape. Maybe taking my time to complete the workouts would have been an option, and possibly taking proceeding through the weeks slower. Maybe modifying the exercises a bit too might work, lower reps and lower weights? Could have been done taking the workouts slower too, but then that in turn would make them longer. I do find FBG is very challenging (in a good way!) and think it’s an amazing program for those looking to continue their fitness journey and work on strength/toning.

I found that while following the guide, I definitely gained strength and have noticed some amazing changes in my body. I am noticing less loose skin on my arms in particular [I have lots after losing over 90lbs!]. When I first started I couldn’t do a single “normal” push up. I’m not saying I’m a pro now by any means, but I CAN do them! I seriously never thought I would be able to do them prior to starting FBG, and now I can do them mid circuit, while already winded. Seeing strength/endurance constantly improving throughout this 12 week journey was my favourite part of it! I felt stronger and more confident in myself as each week passed.

From here I plan to still loosely follow the guide. Truthfully, I am missing the weight machines at the gym and am eager to add those back to my regular routine again.. but for the days I can’t make it to the gym [It’s half an hour away with limited childcare hours so I go about 3 days a week] I will do a workout from FBG. I essentially plan to do a mix of FBG and weight machines at the gym from here on out!

SO, down to the nitty gritty, my end all answer… I would definitely recommend FBG! I am loving the results I got while following the 12 week guide. It is great for those with busy schedules or for those that may prefer to workout at home. 🙂

thumbnail_image2thumbnail_image1-1

Thanks for reading!

Rachel

Leave a Reply

